Jumping Frogs Parachute Time

Here’s a great story time that can be used for spring, summer, frogs, jumping, and the color green. 

Opening Song: Where is thumbkin. This is a great transition to get children to hold the parachute with their thumbs on top to practice their fine motor skills and use the same muscles they need for cutting and coloring. 
Parachute Play: Gunk Gunk went the little green frog: sing song while floating green frog on lilly pad 

Here’s my green frog (I didn’t make him, I found him in our craft closet- so thanks whoever made him!)

Image
Finger Play: Open Shut Them
Story: Jump Frog Jump by Robert Kalan
Parachute Play:  Bumpin the Chute: This is from a cd, you can buy the song here. 
Finger Play: Fingers like to wiggle waggle wiggle waggle wiggle waggle, fingers like to wiggle waggle way up high (wiggle fingers high in the air). Fingers like to wiggle waggle wiggle waggle wiggle waggle fingers like to wiggle waggle way down low (wiggle fingers near the ground).

Story:  Dimity Duck by Jane Yolen
Parachute Play: Shake your sillies out by Raffi. Sing the song or use the cd and shake the parachute.

Words:

(Shake parachute)Gotta shake, shake, shake my sillies out
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out
And wiggle my waggles away

(Drop parachute and clap hands- great for learning how to follow directions)I gotta clap, clap, clap my crazies out
Clap, clap, clap my crazies out
Clap, clap, clap my crazies out
And wiggle my waggles away

(Hold parachute and jump)I gotta jump, jump, jump my jiggles out
Jump, jump, jump my jiggles out
Jump, jump, jump my jiggles out
And wiggle my waggles away

(Reach up high with parachute, like you are stretching)I gotta yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out
Yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out
Yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out
And wiggle my waggles away

(shake parachute)I gotta shake, shake, shake my sillies out
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out
And wiggle my waggles away
And wiggle my waggles away
Finger Play: Tommy Thumbs up and Tommy thumbs down (Put thumbs up, then down) Tommy Thumbs dancing all around the town (wiggle your thumbs) Dance them on your shoulders, dance them on your head, dance them on your knees and then tuck them into bed (put them under your arms)
Story: Croaky Pokey  by Ethan Long (we did this as an active read and sang and did the motions while standing on top of our lily pad (the parachute).
Teddy Bear Teddy Bear Turn around (spin around while holding the parachute)

Teddy Bear Teddy Bear Touch the ground (bring parachute to the ground)

Teddy Bear Teddy Bear reach up high (Bring the parachute up over your head)

Teddy Bear Teddy Bear make the parachute fly (shake the parachute)

Teddy Bear Teddy Bear drop the parachute (let go)

Teddy Bear Teddy Bear show your boot (or shoe- stand on one foot)

Teddy Bear Teddy Bear touch the sky (reach up high again)

Teddy Bear Teddy Bear wave goodbye (wave goodbye)

 

We gave out green turtle or green caterpillar stickers to go with a green theme.

 

Happy Hopping!

This entry was published on March 14, 2012 at 6:46 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

