Noisy Boogie Time

Fall means a new story time season! This month I’m really excited to use more flannel boards in my story times and most of all to use more music!

If your library runs like mine, you’re about to start a new story time schedule and it would be a great time to add a little boogie time in your regular story hour.  Why? Well, funny you should ask! I just happen to be doing a program at this years Pennsylvania Library Association’s Conference about this very topic. It’s called Babies Boogie: music and dance story times for under twos, and I am amply prepared to tell you why you should be using music and with your children.

If you’re a parent looking for something fun and healthy to do with your child, I would suggest a noisy boogie time for 15 minutes during the day. When your child is getting bored or cranky, music and dance lift mood and get you and your child moving for a few minutes. Have a free dance party or download some songs from Peter and Ellen Allard (my current favorites) or Dr. Jean. Most of them tell you what motions to do. OR you could just head to your local public library with my story time plan below and see what cd’s and books they have to offer.

Music and dance is fun. Fun for you, fun for your child. It also helps in brain development.

Here’s some research that supports it:

http://www.zerotothree.org/child-development/social-emotional-development/getting-in-tune.html

Here’s a link to my favorite music and dance cd that you should buy: http://www.amazon.com/Sing-Say-Stamp-Sway-Vol/dp/B004B2VR3W/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1316188005&sr=8-8  (You can also download the mp3’s from Peter and Ellen Allard on itunes)

Here’s some fun ideas to add to your noisy boogie time or your story time (it’s one of my upcoming story time plans with a Fall theme):

Opening song: I’ve Got Two Hands by Peter and Ellen Allard (available on itunes)

Finger Play: This is the way my fingers stand finger stand fingers stand, this is the way my fingers stand so early in the morning.Fingers dance, fingers bend, fingers rest

Book : Fall Leaves Fall by Zoe Hall

Song: Shake your Sillies out by Raffi (lyrics available online and easy to sing, song also available on itunes)

Finger Play: I wiggle my fingers, I wiggle my toes I wiggle my shoulders and I wiggle my nose Now the wiggles are out of me And I’m as still as I can be.

Book: Leaves by David Ezra Stein

Song: DISCLAIMER: I did not come up with this idea, I found it online somewhere!

BEFORE singing the song give each child a strip of orange and red crepe paper or gather enough leaves so that each child has a red and an orange one. (Sing to the tune of wheels on the bus)

The leaves on the trees turn Orange and Red (Raise the crepe paper who’s color is sung.)

Orange and Red,Orange and Red,

The leaves on the trees turn Orange and Red

All around the town.

The leaves on the tree come tumbling down, tumbling down, tumbling down,

(Make leaves tumble to the floor without letting go of the stem.)

The leaves on the trees come tumbling down,

All around the town.

The leaves on the trees go “swish, swish, swish,” (Swish leaves along floor)

“swish, swish, swish, swish, swish, swish,”

The leaves of the trees go “swish, swish, swish”

All around the town.

We’ll rake them in a pile and jump right in!

(“gently” drop leaves into the middle of the circle and jump in place.)

Jump right in, Jump right in!

We’ll rake them in a pile

Book: We’re Going on a Leaf Hunt by Steve Metzger

Other fun songs:

The Twist

Hokey Pokey

 

After my PaLA presentation, I will post my power point, handouts, and a movie our story times on here.

Happy Noisy Boogie Time everyone!!!

This entry was published on September 16, 2011 at 4:13 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Noisy Boogie Time

  1. Rachel McC on said:

    We do boogie time at our house quite a bit. We have playlist in itunes of just fun “clean” songs. My kids can sing most of the words to Uncle Kracker’s SMILE which lends itself to motions! And since they don’t usually see me dance silly except with them, they seem to love every second of it.

  2. yay sara—- thanks for sharing this, b/c my life is suddenly flannel and puppets and childhood memory songs…. wow. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

